Head start

Murphy Head Start Vision and Mission Statement

We are dedicated to preparing independent, confident, and knowledgeable families and children for a positive future. We commit to open communication, intentional planning, and working together with families and community resources to acquire personal and family stability in an ever-changing world.


Murphy Head Start is a federally funded child development program, for three years and six months, four and five year old children.  There are no fees for Head Start service. Murphy Head Start does not and shall not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion (creed), gender, national origin (ancestry), or disability in any of its activities or operations. We are committed to providing an inclusive and welcoming environment for all members of our staff, students, families, and volunteers. Head Start is a parent and child program that believes children learn best when parents participate in their child’s education. 

Murphy Head Start is a four-day program at Jack L. Kuban, Arthur M. Hamilton and William R. Sullivan schools.

What is Murphy Head Start?


A child can benefit most from an approach that is comprehensive an interdisciplinary. This can foster development and remedy problems through the use of a wide range of services. Murphy Head Start involves the child’s family and the community in many activities. The family is considered the primary influence in the child’s development and is integrally involved in the program.

The overall Murphy Head Start Goal- To enhance social competence in children of low-income families. A comprehensive, developmental approach is used to support and enhance the child’s social competence, cognitive and intellectual development, physical, mental health and nutritional needs.

Philosophy Statement


THERE ARE NO FEES FOR SERVICES!

A child must meet the following requirements to be enrolled.

• Must Be Income Eligible. (Show proof of paycheck stub, TANF letter, etc.)

• Must be 3 and 6 months or 4 years old by August 31st

• Must have birth certificate

• Must have up to date immunization (provide shot records)

Admission Requirements


Step 1: Call Head Start Office for Pre-registration

Step 2: Head Start Intake Process with City of Phoenix Caseworker

  • Verification and show proof of:

    • Birth Certificate

    • Immunization Record

    • Income

  • Application Form

  • Nutrition Screening

  • Medical History

  • Receive Physical and Dental Forms at Head Start, (with expected date of completion)

Step 3: Enrollment if vacancies available

 

Application Process


Contact Information:

Murphy Head Start Child Development Center

Arthur M. Hamilton School

2020 West Durango St., Room 15  

Phoenix, Arizona   85009

Office Hours: Monday-Friday 7:30am-4:00pm

Main Office: (602)353-5181 Fax: (602)353-5188

Laurie Black, Head Start Director

(602)353-5183

lblack@msdaz.org

Nora Lopez, Administrative Secretary

(602)353-5181

nelopez@msdaz.org

Latifah Shah, Instructional Specialist

(602)353-5182

lshah@msdaz.org


Full day session only

2020 W. Durango, Phoenix, AZ 85009

8:00 am – 2:30 pm, Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday

8:00 am – 11:30 am, Wednesday

Hamilton Elementary School

Dena Jiron, Teacher

djiron@msdaz.org

Ivon Soto, Instructional Assistant

isoto@msdaz.org

Juana Sandoval, Support Staff

jsandoval@msdaz.org

Patricia Arellanes, Teacher

parellanes@msdaz.org

Amelia Gonzalez, Instructional Assistant

agonzalez@msdaz.org

Ignacio Montoya, Support Staff

imontoya@msdaz.org


Full day session only

3201 W. Sherman St., Phoenix, AZ 85009

8:00 am – 2:30 pm, Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday

8:00 am – 11:30 am, Wednesday

Kuban Elementary School

Elizabeth Gonzalez - Teacher

egonzalez@msdaz.org

Maria Chayra - Instructional Assistant

mchayra@msdaz.org

Maria Santana, Support Staff

msantana@msdaz.org


Full day session or morning session and afternoon session available

2 N. 31st Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85009

Full Day Session

8:00 am – 2:30 pm, Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday

8:00 am – 11:30 am, Wednesday

Double Day Session NO CLASS ON WEDNESDAY

8:00 am – 11:30 am, Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday

12:00 pm – 3:30 pm, Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday 

Sullivan Elementary School

Sebera Ramirez, Teacher

sramirez@msdaz.org

Wendy Mejia, Instructional Assistant

wmejia@msdaz.org

Mireya Cano, Support Staff

mcano@msdaz.org

Norma Urritia, Teacher

nurritia@msdaz.org

Hope Barela, Instructional Assistant

hbarela@msdaz.org

Beatriz Morales, Teacher

bmorales@msdaz.org

Maria Galvez, Instructional Assistant

mggalvez@msdaz.org

Alondra Montoya, Support Staff

amontoya@msdaz.org