Governing Board

Murphy School District is governed by a five-member panel elected by popular vote to alternating four-year terms.

  • The governing board consist of a president, and four members.

  • The president is elected in January by fellow members and serves in that capacity for one year.  

  • Board members must reside in the Murphy School District.

  • Operating within the laws of the state legislature and the rules and regulations of the state Board of Education, the board sets policy for the management of the district.

  • The superintendent and district staff are responsible for the execution of these policies. 

The Murphy Elementary School District is looking for a new board member! If you are interested in becoming more involved in your school district please reach out to Board Secretary Michele Lopez at (602) 353-5002 for more information. Thank you!

Board Member Name

Regina Baca

Governing Board Member

2 year term, Expires 2020

Board Member Three


Governing Board President


Ruby Torres

Governing Board Member

2 year term, Canvas expires 2020

Board Member Four

Angela Newingham

Governing Board Clerk

4 year term, Expires 2022



Governing Board Member


Michele Lopez

Board Secretary

Meeting Schedule

Governing Board Meetings are held monthly at 6:30 PM in the Governing Board Room at the District Office. Please view link below for full details.

Governing Board Schedule

Governing Board Agendas, Minutes & Audio

Governing Board Policies

Governing Board Policy Manual